Monthly pick Hostinger 9.4 / 10 editorial score
H HostingScale
UpCloud logo

UpCloud Review

Our hands-on look at UpCloud: pricing, performance, support, and who it suits best. Scores and benchmarks below are sample data pending verification.

From $3.50/mo 30-day money-back guarantee covering a full refund of the first payment only; no refunds on unused account balance outside that period. 99.99% to 99.999% uptime SLA
Not yet scored
—
From $3.50/mo
Visit provider →

UpCloud overview

UpCloud is a European cloud infrastructure provider offering public cloud servers, GPU servers, private cloud, managed databases, and managed Kubernetes across 15 data centers on four continents. The company positions its platform around European data sovereignty, flat-rate pricing with zero egress fees, and a 99.999% uptime SLA on its Premium and higher-tier plans. Its offerings range from €3/mo development-grade Starter instances to dedicated Private Cloud hosts and multi-GPU AI servers priced up to tens of thousands of dollars per month.

Quick verdict

Who this host fits, and who it does not.

Choose it if...

  • Buyers need European-based, GDPR-aligned cloud infrastructure with data residency options
  • Predictable, egress-free billing is a priority for data-heavy workloads
  • Teams need scalable GPU compute for AI/ML with transparent hourly billing
  • Organizations want dedicated single-tenant infrastructure via Private Cloud

Look elsewhere if...

  • Buyers who require published renewal pricing before committing
  • Those needing an off-the-shelf, self-service private cloud without a sales conversation
  • Users specifically requiring detailed DDoS mitigation documentation upfront

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Zero-cost inbound and outbound data transfer across all published plans
  • 99.999% uptime SLA with a stated 50x service-credit remedy on Premium and higher plans
  • Broad data center footprint spanning Northern Europe, Central Europe, North America, and Asia Pacific
  • Transparent, itemized pricing tables for servers, storage, databases, and networking add-ons
  • GPU server range from cost-efficient NVIDIA L4 to high-end B200, including spot pricing discounts

Cons

  • Renewal/long-term pricing is not separately disclosed beyond the listed intro rates
  • Private Cloud pricing requires a sales quote rather than being published in full
  • Minimum 12-month commitment typically applies to Private Cloud contracts
  • No specific DDoS protection details are published on the reviewed pages
  • Company founding year and headquarters address are not stated on the reviewed pages

Specifications & policies

Verified against the provider's own pages. Hover a row's source to see where it came from.

Data center locations15 global data centers across Northern Europe, Central Europe, North America, and Asia Pacific (e.g. Helsinki, Frankfurt, London, Amsterdam, Chicago, New York, San Jose, Singapore, Sydney) ↗
Control panelProprietary UpCloud Control Panel (Hub), plus REST API, CLI, SDKs, and Terraform provider ↗
Starter plan entry price€3/mo (1GB/1 core, 10GB standard SSD storage, 99.99% SLA) ↗
Premium plan entry price€5/mo (1GB/1 core, MaxIOPS storage, 99.999% SLA) ↗
Cloud Native plan entry price€12/mo (4GB/1 core, decoupled compute/storage, billed only when powered on) ↗
Backup policyPremium/Cloud Native/High CPU/High Memory servers include a 24-hour daily backup tier; paid tiers available for 7-day (+20%), 30-day (+40%), and 365-day (+60%) retention, priced as a percentage of server plan or per-GB for additional storage ↗
Migration policy2-month free migration period offered for Private Cloud hosting migrations ↗
Payment methods / currenciesPrepaid balance system; payments accepted in EUR, USD, GBP, and SGD, converted to EUR at the day's exchange rate ↗
IPv6 supportPublic IPv6 address included free on Cloud Servers and Private Cloud networking ↗
Network transfer / egressZero-cost inbound and outbound data transfer on all plans, governed by a Fair Transfer Policy ↗
Node hardware (Cloud Servers/GPU)5th Gen AMD EPYC 9575F Turin processors with DDR5 RAM; GPU servers offer NVIDIA L4, L40S, H100, and B200 accelerators ↗
Private Cloud node hardwareHigh-Performance and Premium nodes: AMD EPYC 9575F, 64 cores/128 threads; Standard nodes: AMD EPYC 9355, 32 cores/64 threads ↗
Storage technologyProprietary MaxIOPS storage (up to 100,000 IOPS), Standard storage (up to 10,000 IOPS), and Archive storage tiers ↗
Network capacity (Cloud Servers)250–1000 Mbit/s depending on plan size, included with no data-transfer fees ↗
Green/energy claimsHelsinki (FI-HEL1) data center powered by 100% renewable energy and routes excess GPU heat into the city's district heating network; certified to LEED Gold, ISO 14001, ISO 50001, and CEEDA Gold ↗
Company certificationsISO 27001 certified, GDPR compliant ↗
Operating systems supportedUbuntu, Debian, CentOS, AlmaLinux and other Linux distributions, plus Windows Server Standard/Datacenter editions (licensed via Microsoft partner) ↗
Deployment speedNew Cloud Servers deploy in under 45 seconds ↗
Windows Server licensing (Cloud Servers)€12.00/mo per CPU core (Standard) or €29.02/mo per CPU core (Datacenter), billed hourly ↗
GPU Server entry price (global)$0.68/hour (NVIDIA L4, spot) up to $3.90/hour (NVIDIA B200, spot); on-demand rates start at $0.69/hour ↗
Managed Database entry price€9/mo (Developer tier, MySQL/PostgreSQL, 1GB/1 core) ↗

Plans & pricing

Intro and renewal prices shown separately. 10 plans tracked.

PlanPriceRenews atCPURAMStorage
Starter - 1GB$3.50/mo—1 vCPU1 GB10 GB Standard SSDView
Premium - 1GB$6.00/mo—1 vCPU1 GB25 GB MaxIOPSView
Starter - 2GB/1 Core$7.00/mo—1 vCPU2 GB20 GB Standard SSDView
Managed Database MySQL/PostgreSQL Developer - 1GB$9.00/mo—1 vCPU1 GBStandardView
Starter - 2GB/2 Cores$10.00/mo—2 vCPU2 GB30 GB Standard SSDView
Premium - 2GB/1 Core$12.00/mo—1 vCPU2 GB25 GB MaxIOPSView
Cloud Native - 4GB/1 Core$14.00/mo—1 vCPU4 GBMaxIOPS/Standard/Archive (choice)View
Cloud Native - 8GB/2 Cores$28.00/mo—2 vCPU8 GBMaxIOPS/Standard/Archive (choice)View
Premium - 8GB/2 Cores$42.00/mo—2 vCPU8 GB100 GB MaxIOPSView
Managed Database MySQL/PostgreSQL Standard - 8GB$69.00/mo—2 vCPU8 GBMaxIOPSView

A dash means we have not verified that value yet. Renewal prices are added as we confirm them with the provider. Some links are affiliate links; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This does not affect our rankings. Full affiliate disclosure.

Report incorrect data on this page

What it actually costs

The advertised price is the first term only. This is the real spend once renewal kicks in.

Advertised
—
What you average
—
Total over 36 months
—
First 12 months — Renewal months —

Report incorrect pricing on this page

Coupons & deals

10 active UpCloud deals. Every one shows the date it was last verified.

Get Started with 250GB Object Storage for $5/Mo

Verified July 11, 2026See offer terms at checkout.
Activate deal →

Save 10% OFF on Your First Order on UpCloud

Verified July 11, 2026See offer terms at checkout.
Activate deal →

Upcloud Coupon - Save 25% OFF

Verified July 11, 2026See offer terms at checkout.
Activate deal →

Free $35 Upcloud Credits for New User

Verified July 11, 2026See offer terms at checkout.
Activate deal →

Save 15% OFF on all Hosting Plans @ Upcloud

Verified July 11, 2026See offer terms at checkout.
Activate deal →

User reviews

Editorial scores are ours. This section is yours.

—No ratings yet. Our editorial score of — is independent of user reviews and does not change with them.
Be the first to review UpCloud

Used them for a month or a year? Rate the experience and tell other buyers what the renewal, support, and uptime were actually like.

Write a review of UpCloud

Reviews are moderated before publishing. We never remove negative reviews for being negative.

Frequently asked questions

Answers written by our editorial team.

Does UpCloud charge for outbound data transfer?
No. Published pricing states that inbound and outbound data transfer are free on all plans, subject to a Fair Transfer Policy.
What uptime guarantee does UpCloud offer?
Premium, Cloud Native, Private Cloud, and Managed Database/Kubernetes plans carry a 99.999% SLA with a 50x service credit for downtime beyond five minutes; Starter plans carry 99.99%.
Is there a free trial or refund option?
New sign-ups receive promotional credit for the first 30 days, and UpCloud offers a 30-day money-back guarantee on the first payment only.
Are renewal prices published?
No. The reviewed pages list only current/intro pricing for each plan; no separate renewal rate is disclosed, so this should not be assumed identical to the listed price long-term.

Best alternatives

The next providers by editorial score.

Hostinger logo

Hostinger

9.4 · Exceptional
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Fully managed hosting
  • 99.9% uptime SLA
$2.99/mo

Renews at $10.99/mo

Claim Deal
HostArmada logo

HostArmada

9.2 · Exceptional
  • 45-day money-back guarantee
  • Fully managed hosting
  • 99.9% uptime SLA
$1.99/mo

Renews at $9.95/mo

Claim Deal
DigitalOcean logo

DigitalOcean

9.1 · Exceptional
  • Pay-as-you-go credit
  • 99.99% uptime SLA
  • 10 GB SSD storage
$4.00/mo

No renewal increase listed

Claim Deal

Some links on this page are affiliate links; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This does not affect our rankings. Editorial scores and benchmark figures are sample data pending verification.